How Not to Write BDSM

With its increasing popularity, BDSM in erotic romance has, in some cases, suffered in quality. Many writers do an excellent job because they live the lifestyle, have done extensive research, or otherwise have an understanding of WIITWD. Others have perpetuated popular misconceptions or simply made up what seemed right for the story. Yes, it’s fiction, but I think references to an existing culture should resemble reality unless the book portrays a completely fabricated world. There’s also the matter of writer responsibility, a somewhat controversial topic  I won’t explore now. My only point for the moment is to tell you I’ve added a page containing links to posts about writing BDSM fiction. I was tempted to include two posts that discussed the subject by way of book reviews, but I’d rather not single out books I’m not recommending.

I’ve also updated and rearranged links to posts about BDSM and abuse.

Leave a comment